turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Oklahoma public Land hunt

Started by JohnSouth22, April 11, 2020, 12:42:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohnSouth22

Hey guys, New member to the forum but have been using this forum for years. Love the content yall put out for all turkey hunters. I am a college student from south Alabama. I finally made an account to get to be able to talk to ya'll directly as opposed to reading old threads.  I am currently halfway through my single season public land grand slam. With only Rios and Merriams to go and due to the virus, I bought my tags for both Sodak and Oklahoma.  I will be heading out to Oklahoma in two weeks and will be spending 10-12 days there before headed to Sodak.  From my digging so far it seems both blackkettle and packsaddle have good numbers but about 3 fold the hunters on the normal year. My question is are either of these WMA's getting less pressure than the average year due to the virus?  Im not asking for anyones spots but any sort of guidance is greatly appreciated!   

Dtrkyman

No clue on those, but in the south everyone being off work the public is busy.  I have not been there but several friends have said the same thing!

akp

Just got back from hunting private land out there but I hunted Black Kettle one day.  Numbers are way down this year.  I've been to both Black Kettle and Packsaddle and know what they're usually like.  I didn't see a bird on Black Kettle and didn't hear a single gobble.  Hunted a couple of units that are usually great and saw very little sign. 

Pressure is still high.  I saw a lot of trucks on Thursday.  I know there are birds out there but that entire region has to be about as bad as it's been in recent memory.  Not even seeing birds out in the fields on private like usual.  Hate to be negative.  I'm four hours from there and wouldn't make the drive back.