OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

rifle reloading question

Started by Richyb, May 12, 2011, 07:00:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Richyb

I picked up the 165 nosler partitions and im planning on loading them for 30-06 and also 308.  IM very new to this reloading stuff and was wondering if one powder will work for both shells or are they 2 different powders? thanks.

wisconsinteacher

I have never reloaded .308 but for 06 I have used H4350, IMR 4064, and Win 760.  Right now I have some rounds ready to test that are from 56-58.5 gr of H4350 with 165 AB bullets.  I am switching from SSTs to AB this year.  Get a few books and read.  There are also some good forums to join that will help a lot.  Good luck and have fun.

redarrow

IMR 4350 should work fine in both cartridges. GET YOURSELF A GOOD RELOADING MANUAL !  I recommend the one from Lyman or Lee.

WyoHunter

Quote from: redarrow on May 12, 2011, 07:15:18 PM
IMR 4350 should work fine in both cartridges. GET YOURSELF A GOOD RELOADING MANUAL !  I recommend the one from Lyman or Lee.
My favorite is Barnes and Nosler.
If I had a dollar for every gobbler I thought I fooled I'd be well off!

Reloader

For both, I would lean twds the Varget range of burn.  4350 is a tad slow for 308 and 165s.

4895 will work as well.

I'd probably grab Varget for just one powder.  Powder is cheap, go varget for the 308 and a 4350 for the 06.

davisd9

Are you shooting deer with both calibers?  What will be the longest range shot you will have to take?
"A turkey hen speaks when she needs to speak, and says what she needs to say, when she needs to say it. So every word a turkey speaks is for a reason." - Rev Zach Farmer

Richyb