OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Deep clean barrel how long does it take?

Started by Bobby5, March 18, 2020, 05:41:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobby5

I got bored and read on here deep cleaning the barrel might give you better patterns.  So i took a brush with hoppes #9 and scrubbed it for about 5 minutes then kept going through with patches trying to get a clean patch.  Ive probably went through over 50 patches and still not a spotless one. Is this normal? This is my first time really scrubbing it good.
Thanks

Ozarks Hillbilly

Did you let your bore set wet for 10- 15 min. and give the solvent time to work?

The first time can take a while but once done it makes cleaning bore much easier in the future IMHO.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

dirt road ninja

Takes me about 45 to set up , clean and pick up mess

eggshell

I agree it's not a 5 minute job. I will usually put a rag in one end and pour the solvent in the other rolling the barrel to get it all covered and lay it flat for a while. I then push the rag through  and then wet a clean one with solvent and swab then use a brush on it and swab and repeat until I get a clean rag. I tear up an old tee shirt and I'll end up using half of it. It will really help your pattern consistency. My browning started shoot POA two years ago and I done this and it brought it right back in line.

Bobby5

i thought i had it somewhat clean and just to make sure used a brush for about 4 to 5 minutes with hoppes #9 and let it sit 15 min. ran a patch through it and it was jet black lol.  Ive spent like over a hour and 2 t shirts and the patch still isnt spotless its like it never ends lol. i ran a patch a couple hundred times and still not spotless.

Ozarks Hillbilly