turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Most popular slate call of all time ??

Started by Bobby5, March 03, 2020, 12:32:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobby5

I'm new to slate calls and I've been trying to decide what slate call to get for my first one. Seems like there's so many choices and different answers. Is there a classic store bought slate call that's been around for a longtime ? Like the reputation the lynch box call has a decent store bought call that's been around forever? 

Loyalist84

There are plenty of decent store-bought slates by folks like Primos or Knight and Hale. However, for the same money you could get a stellar slate from a maker like Nathan Taylor, Mark Cornelius or Dustin Jones with soundfiles to pick from on their facebook pages that will knock any commercial slate out of the park. Only real fly in that ointment is in the waiting time, but prompt ordering will put you in good shape for spring. I just went through the same dilemma myself this past fall/winter. If you really do like the idea of a classic commercial option, something by MAC Calls or Quaker Boy would probably fit the bill and resulted in a lot of turkey meals for my family in the last 20 years.

Greg Massey

My suggestion is look at these custom builders and in not particular order: Mark Cornelius, Buster " Larry Halford, Nathan Taylor, Dustin Jones, John Sinclair, Val Espinoza, Clay Townsend, Chad Remenaric, Kenneth Mullins, Lon Trice, Anthony Fleenor, Chris Brumfiel, Lonnie Sneed most all of these builders are on Facebook..I'm sure people will add to the list

KentuckyHeadhunter

Loyal Member of the Tenth Legion

outdoors

Quote from: Greg Massey on March 03, 2020, 01:21:59 PM