Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Missouri, Tennessee, or elsewhere for first eastern?

Started by JMalin, February 18, 2020, 11:20:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JMalin

Wanting to see some new country and chase after an eastern.  I'm a Texas resident and the less driving I can do while maximizing opportunity, the better.  If you had a choice between western Tennessee and southern Missouri, which would you choose?  Would driving a little further into the interior of either state be more fruitful?

dirt road ninja

Eastern OK has Easterns and it may be closer. Of the two, Id try TN only cause I haven't hunted it yet, so not much help to you there.

JMalin

Quote from: dirt road ninja on February 18, 2020, 11:28:53 AM
Eastern OK has Easterns and it may be closer. Of the two, Id try TN only cause I haven't hunted it yet, so not much help to you there.

I was under the impression that the numbers of easterns in Oklahoma were similar to that of Arkansas (not very good).  It would certainly keep me closer to home if I could get on one there though.

bigriverbum

looking at this map

https://www.nwtf.org/hunt/wild-turkey-basics/habitat

why are there no turkeys that portion of eastern texas? just very heavy agricultural land? never been to texas

JMalin

Quote from: bigriverbum on February 18, 2020, 11:39:40 AM
looking at this map

https://www.nwtf.org/hunt/wild-turkey-basics/habitat

why are there no turkeys that portion of eastern texas? just very heavy agricultural land? never been to texas