Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

New guy looking for other mouth calls to try...

Started by ezmorningrebel, March 25, 2018, 12:09:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ezmorningrebel

I'll start by saying I'm pretty new to turkey hunting.  Last spring was the first time I got serious about pursuing them and had a couple of close calls.  Same thing this fall but haven't sealed the deal yet.  I tried a bunch of mouth calls last year and the two that worked best for me were the cheap primos aframe doubles from Walmart and a navy blue perfection call (super double d maybe?) that Jim Clay handed me at a show.  Both of these calls have two thin reeds which I'm guessing are easier to use?  Anything else out there I should try?  Thanks.

llauber79

Quote from: ezmorningrebel on March 25, 2018, 12:09:24 PM
I'll start by saying I'm pretty new to turkey hunting.  Last spring was the first time I got serious about pursuing them and had a couple of close calls.  Same thing this fall but haven't sealed the deal yet.  I tried a bunch of mouth calls last year and the two that worked best for me were the cheap primos aframe doubles from Walmart and a navy blue perfection call (super double d maybe?) that Jim Clay handed me at a show.  Both of these calls have two thin reeds which I'm guessing are easier to use?  Anything else out there I should try?  Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

llauber79

Hen'd Up Custom Calls

Marc

I have used a few calls, and have it narrowed down to Gooserbat and Hooks...

Both are great call makers, and both will talk to you on the phone and send you their personal recommendations based on your description of needs and wants out of a call.  Both are less expensive than many of the commercial calls as well...