OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Saving your fingers.

Started by larry9988, September 18, 2017, 10:26:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

larry9988

I have noticed that more than one call maker has had a major accident on the table saw. I am a call maker myself and understand the danger in using a table saw. We work with small pieces of wood meaning our fingers get very close to the blade. From cutting thin pieces, to tiny inlay pieces for box calls and many other cuts, our fingers are always at risk. I am a retired agriculture teacher and I taught woodworking for 28 years. The worst student accident that ever happened in my class was on.... you guessed it, a table saw. A few years ago I became aware of a table saw called a Sawstop that prevented most table saw accidents. It works off of conductivity. If your finger comes into contact with the blade, the blade is disabled and snatched below the table surface in a microsecond. Now they are expensive but if you consider the pain, medical cost and down time caused by a major accident, they are worth the money. I bought one for my school shop a few years before I retired and it was great peace of mind knowing it would help protect my students and thus protecting me from liability in the case of an accident. Please watch the video demonstration of how this thing works and you may convinced of the value of this tool. I do not work for this company and am not associated with them in any way. I just wanted anyone that was not aware that this type of saw existed to know it was out there. Anything that I can do to help protect my fellow call makers is my only motivation. I know this is not for everyone, especially because of the cost, but how can you put a value on loosing one or more fingers.

MickT