News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

My 2010 season ended with a BANG!

Started by huntingirl, April 06, 2011, 08:46:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

huntingirl

Hey guys!
It's me, the original HuntinGirl, Bethany!  Life's been hectic but I'm here.  I finished my Master's degree in December but I'm still hunting a career.  

Anyhow, I just want to share my 2010 season ender with y'all.  For one thing, it was my first time tagging out, and also a multiple beard bird.

We had left at lunch time and came back for one last go on the last day.  It was windy as all get out and I was using the woods as cover to help me make my way to my favorite point to check the field.  I crossed from the pines into the hardwoods and was poking my way along when something caught my attention out of the corner of my left eye.  It was a gobbler throwing his head up out in the field.  I thought he saw me because he froze and I froze, and that's when the wind calmed down.  I waited for a gust of wind and dropped to my knees and proceeded to crawl to the edge of the field.  I slowly rose to my knees with my gun ready and I thought he was gone.  That's when 2 hens got nervous and his head popped up right in perfect range.  And BLAM!  Jellyhead.  Apparently there were a bunch of other gobblers in the ditch in the field because turkeys just scattered in every direction, but mine had already hit the dirt.

I was just so excited to have tagged out on the last day of the season that all I could think to do was to praise God for allowing me to take this bird.  I walked over to him and saw that he had nice spurs and a nice thick beard.  I carried him back to the edge of the field to meet my Dad, but he was on the other side of the property, so I just laid my bird down and sat on a tree and thanked God again.