turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Mossberg 500 20 gauge turkey factory choke

Started by jm_middleton07, March 28, 2016, 01:24:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jm_middleton07

I purchased this gun about a month ago. It has the fiber optic sights and the x-factor choke.  I'm new to shotguns but wanted to try turkey hunting this year. I was thinking if I bought one setup for turkey hunting then I would be ready to go. I purchased some Winchester xx 3" No5's, federal 3" strut shock no5's and some federal premium flight control 3" No6's 1 1/4oz. I also have a box of 2 3/4" target loads. I shot all of these out of a gun rest and none of them had over 80 in a 10" at 30 yards. The flight control was the worst. The strut shock had the best pattern but it was high and to the right. The winchesters where all high and to the right. The target loads shoot more centered than the turkey loads. I'm just frustrated. I'm starting to think the factory choke sucks or I haven't wasted enough money on shells yet. I'm using a 40x40 target and drawing a 10" circle around the dense part of the pattern. Should I just purchase another choke or should I try a different shell? I can post pics of my patterns later this evening after work.

stringtalker

What size is your factory choke and go buy you some federal heavyweight #7's and you should be fine
Douglas

jm_middleton07

It is an x-full turkey .584. The owners manual says to shoot lead only out of it.

cluck