Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Am I messing up by only using mouth calls?

Started by bowmike, May 26, 2015, 10:14:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bowmike

With the season coming to an end I am always going back and thinking things over. I am wondering if I am messing up by only wanting to use mouth calls. I am no pro caller by any means with one, but I can make them come in pretty decent.

I have a glass call that I really never use. I think I need to check out a couple different strikers for it.

I have two Lynch box calls as well that haven't hit the woods with me yet. My son uses them more than I do. The one I believe is the fool proof, and the other is a bit longer, and one side calls out hen and the other calls out gobbler.

I guess my biggest issue with the other calls, is that my hands are pre occupied with the call and not on my shot gun. Are you guys using the other calls first, then popping in a mouth call when they hit that 50 yard range, if they need any more coaxing?

Can you guys give me an idea on when you use what type of call? Maybe use the friction call when they are on the roost, then switch over? I want to expand to using the other types of calls but always end up leaving them at home and going with the mouth call. This sometimes becomes a disadvantage, as they may not like the call, or if one of the reads gets messed up, and squeaks or something.

I mean my Ol tom vest has pockets for a friction call and box call, might as well fill it up wink Any insight is appreciated.

THattaway