OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Minimal space spring tukey hunting. Tactics? Decoys?

Started by rodre01, May 01, 2015, 09:18:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rodre01

I am a beginner in turkey hunting so any helpful tips would be appreciated.
We live on only almost 14 acres in middle TN so I don't have a ton of room to hunt and move around.
My main hunting spot which I have not turkey hunted a lot is the back portion of a I'd say between 6 and 8 acre(see picture) field with pretty much all woods surrounding with an old fence surrounding the field. Turkey could get through in certain places. You cant see any buildings from some of that end.

The only turkeys I have seen while spring hunting this spot I think, was only a hen yesterday morning and another this morning that came in. I put a photo on this post of the field, That will hopefully work. I'm trying to be able to bring turkey in with what I have. Not a lot of room to move around. Especially because also the season is ending soon over here.
Using a decoy. There might already be a post on this but I've heard that a tom might come maybe to the edge of a field were your calling and if he doesn't see any hens may just leave(if I recall right). Or he might come and see a decoy hen and just wait there for her to come to him. Or he might come in to the decoy? Any tips would be great.\Should I use a decoy should I get a certain kind of call? What all?

Hopefully this will be able to help others that have limited space.

Dtrkyman

Are you hearing birds gobble in the am?  I would definitely concentrate where there is a gap in the fence or where you are seeing the hens come in and out!

With a quality blind do not be afraid to put it smack in the middle of the field with dekes where they can be seen from anywhere in and around the field! 

2eagles