OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Help a new hunter!

Started by GATA61, January 29, 2015, 10:25:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GATA61

Happy to be a part of this forum! I'm a college student in Southeast GA, and I am planning on Turkey hunting for the first time this year. I have hunted mostly anything these Georgia woods and swamps have to offer, except for turkeys. I am looking to buy the necessities( calls, maybe a decoy) but don't want to break the bank and I'd like to be able to figure out the calls to some degree by the season opener. I'll be hunting on my family's private land where we currently have around 50 birds. Any advice on what calls to buy or how to hunt would be greatly appreciated! Thanks again.

"Do Right."- Erk Russell
"Do Right."- Erk Russell

mgm1955

Most importantly know how your gun patterns. A box call would be the fastest to learn to use.

Dtrkyman

I would get one box call, one slate pot call and a couple different style mouth calls and learn to use at least one really well. Owl and crow call.  Being that it sounds like you have a good spot scouting will be more valuable than anything you buy!

Spend some mornings and evenings there the week or so leading to season, get to a spot where you can see a ways with binos if possible.

As stated check your gun, mostly be sure it will shoot straight, many shotguns do not, most modern turkey loads from a straight shooting gun will be sufficient to 40 yards, many guys chase the ultimate pattern and spend tons of money on chokes and ammo and then will not shoot past 40 anyway!

If you can afford it a high end decoy is deadly, particularly in a field set! You may even consider building a few natural blinds for the times birds are silent!

GATA61

Dtrkyman,