turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Bama youth hunt Saturday

Started by Beretta686, March 17, 2011, 02:26:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beretta686

I was like a kid at christmas waiting for the 2011 turkey season to begin. Clays father and I have been driving to Birmingham every Wednesday night for the past 3 months to visit a friend in the hospital. After deer season on one of the rides he asked if I needed a youth for the youth turkey hunt, all I could say was yeah. So a plan was hatched and we had to figure out where to go. Me no question, the river. His dad kept saying a a piece of property we hunt tgether. I won the debate and then broke the news we had a 2 hour drive.

Yesterday evening I called and explained that they needed to set an old time alarm and not move their clocks forward until after we hunt. Standard operating procedure for hunting season time change. Clocks get moved when you are finished hunting. Call it 686 Zulu time. Anyway with all the explaining I got to their house at 2:50am and it was dark. I have the time to the gate down to within 5 min from leaving Wetumpka. Well we were leaving 20 min late when I finally got them up. No time to stop for a Mt Dew I didn't know what to do. Clay has shot guns befre and killed a couple of deer but he had not shot my youth .20g turkey gun. I explained that it was semi autmatic just like his .22. He could only load 2 shells and if he did shoot a turkey I was going to be up and going to the bird, don't shoot me in the butt.