OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Who's a sucker? This newbie is..

Started by ohiomossyoak, April 05, 2014, 07:07:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ohiomossyoak

Been looking for a Push/pull(or whatever they are called) call that is gun mountable..Im a newbie and will be solo hunting,and cannot yet run mouth calls.Was wanting something that can help seal the deal when things get close between me and a bearded bird.Picked up a Primos Bombshell for 25$..Now I am no expert on what sounds good or dont.But you can hear the action inside making noise when you use the call..Pretty sure I have been had :'(.Any recommendations on something that will do the job,is gun mountable and I can get for around the same cost..With a week-ish time frame? 
"Mister X"=2013 Recon'ed Stryker Strykezone 380 covered in Mossy Oak Treestand camo(1inch groups@45yards off a bench with Slick Trick Broadheads)
"General Patton"=Mossberg 835 Ulti-Mag/24in ported barrel in  woodland camo

alclark2

I just put my call down and let the bird sneak in. If it gets to me first, he walks behind a tree and then I take aim.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hoosier Hunt n Fish

alclark2

I can't run a mouth call either btw and I've been hunting turkeys for 5 years. I was there and have the same call in the bottom of a box of hunting gear somewhere.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hoosier Hunt n Fish

learn2hide

quaker boy easy yelper and if you want it mounted to the gun use zip ties.  That's a killer little call, had more than one gobbler refuse to gobble at slates, diaphragms, but gobble and work that call
shoot first, measure spurs later