OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

WHAT SIZE SHOT??

Started by Cbw33, February 27, 2014, 12:27:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cbw33

I'm relatively new to really setting up a good turkey gun. i have my remington 870 drilled and tapped for a scope and its going to be put together this weekend. my question is what is are the opinions on the different sizes shot available. i figure i will try to pattern some long beards since that is 90% of what i am seeing. i want to have maximum penetration and range incase i misjudge a distance. i have been told that #4 will fly farther and hit harder than smaller shot. is there a significant difference in running  #4s over #5s or 6s since i will be greatly reducing my amount of pellets? probably a very juvenile question but i would appreciate some help

Hooksnhorns

It depends if you wanna shoot lead or hevi. Lead- I'd go w/5s. Hevi- I'd go w/ 6s. Just my opinion.
Don't Tread On Me

TBab

Quote from: Hooksnhorns on February 27, 2014, 01:11:41 AM
It depends if you wanna shoot lead or hevi. Lead- I'd go w/5s. Hevi- I'd go w/ 6s. Just my opinion.

:agreed:
Where Lead Meets The Head
Should've had more sense than to try an call a turkey through a barbed wire fence

BandedSpur

Nominal pellet count for 3" shells:
4-236
5-298
6-394
So there is a significant decrease in pellets available as you increase shot size, but retained energy per pellet increases significantly as well. Bottom line: with the proper choke, any of these shot sizes will have adequate pattern density and pellet energy at 40 yds. It's beyond 40 yds where things get interesting, and we don't talk about that here.

IowaGobblers

Its all up to you. You can shoot htl #6's or #7's generally or you can shoot #4, #5, or #6 lead. It depends on what you want to spend and what patterns well for you.

R AJ