OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

regular or mushroom tip strikers??

Started by houagie, February 04, 2014, 10:16:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

houagie

hey fellas...well, lets start with im fairly new to turkey hunting and turkey calling..i normally spend most of my time chasing waterfowl, but needed to fill the void of spring...last year was my first year turkey hunting and am proud to say i bagged one :jackson:...now that im "hooked" i'd like to get more in depth with calling and such...last year i hunted with a cody glass call and it worked great...i got a supreme calls "beard buster" on the way so i can't wait to see what that sounds like...just wanted to know what type of strikers (regular tips or mushroom tips) work for u and why?....also what other calls would you recommed for me to look at..as with my duck calls i prefere custom calls...i like showing the birds something they aren't accustomed to hearing!!....i know theres a lot of experiece here on this board so thanks in advance...sorry to rant on.

drum817

:welcomeOG: ....I like regular tipped strikers, but early on I liked mushroom tips because they seemed to be a bit more forgiving and it was easier to purr on them.  There is also a flared tip which is in between (that might be a good compromise).  As far as other calls go my best suggestion is to learn how to use a mouth call. It usually takes more practice and dedication but it WILL pay off when you've got your gun in your hands instead of a turkey call and still have the ability to call.  A good custom Box call is another VERY useful tool.  It can be used for everything from a locator to a finishing call.  Best of luck!!!  :icon_thumright:
"Freedom Has Never Been Free"

pappy