Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Taking wife hunting. New guns. Need chokes.

Started by birchphone, April 06, 2013, 09:37:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

birchphone

Dilemma: Taking the wife turkey hunting for the fist time tomorrow. It's my first time out as well. We both have brand new Beretta A400 Xtreme 12 gauge shotguns new in the box. I have no idea what choke or shells to get. I have searched the Internet and can't make heads or tails as to what .660 chokes means, etc....I'm just completely ignorant on the subject. I went to my LGS and they don't sound to convincing on the subject either.

They sold me this. http://www.choketube.com/choke-tube-product-details.php?Beretta-Optima-HP-Choke-Tubes&mf=8
It is item 65007 on their site.

Anyone have any experience or a shopping list of things I should go get for these guns? Ie. what choke and shells?

thanks for any help. I shouldn't have waited til the day before.

Gooserbat

Although it's not a true turkey choke it is an alright place to start.  There are several great chokes out there, Sumtoy, Jelly Head, Pure Gold, Indian Creek, I shoot a Ballistic Specialties.  The biggest thing is pattern your guns and find what works best.  One other point to watch is pay attention to your point of impact in regard to your point of aim.  If it's off then you might need to consider some sort of sights like a Truglo mag gobble dot or a Williams fire site.
NWTF Booth 1623
One of my personal current interests is nest predators and how a majority of hunters, where legal bait to the extent of chumming coons.  However once they get the predators concentrated they don't control them.

zeke632

My advise is DONT GO.   :icon_thumright: