turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Pot call rougher?

Started by kevin2, March 27, 2013, 09:33:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kevin2

I'm brand new to everything turkey, pretty much. I got my first pot call today & I was wondering what the best thing would be to rough up the slate surface? 220 grit sand paper, scotch brite pad, or some other item?

Do you rough up the entire surface, or just a small area?
I am going to bag my first Turkey this spring if it is the last thing I do!

wvcurlytop

I use scotch brite pads for my slates.  Once I find the sweet spot on the call, I rough up the top half of the call only.  No need to roughen up the whole thing.  Also, when you rough it up, swipe the slate's surface in one direction and NOT circles.  Just in case you didn't already know that..  Hope this helps, and welcome to the brotherhood of turkey hunting..

redarrow

Scotchbrite for me too.Use it to clean the tip of your striker also.

Balla1982

kevin2

It is a Lonnie Sneed Hot Hen Slate with a Stock Striker

I know nothing about them, so anything you've all added is greatly appreciated.

Quote from: Balla1982 on March 27, 2013, 10:48:14 PM
What kind is it?
I am going to bag my first Turkey this spring if it is the last thing I do!

redleg06

scotchbrite pads for slate, copper and aluminum surfaces. I'ved used fine sandpaper mostly on glass surfaces. 

I'm not a pot call guru or anything like that but it's worked for me.

captin_hook

Scotch brite on slate. Lonnie probably put a piece in the box when he shipped it. 150 grit on my strikers.

lonnie sneed jr.

Should be a pad of scotch bright with the call, if there are a pad of it use it on the slate, also should be a pad of sand paper with it. If there is use it on the tip of your striker. Good Luck

:OGturkeyhead: :OGturkeyhead:

Balla1982