turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Noob With a Mouthcall Question

Started by RickC, March 11, 2013, 11:54:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RickC

Im not sure if Im posting this in the right place but here it is.
Im new to Turkey hunting but really getting fired up to get into it this year.
Picked up a Freak Nasty mouth call at Academy this evening to have something to work with but Im finding the fit to be a problem. Is trimming the call to fit in the mouth something is usually done or are the sides suppose to lay on the teeth?
I know I wont have the time to get anywhere near good enough with it before our season starts but figured the sooner I get started the better.
Blessings,
Rick

TauntoHawk

no you can trim the tape just trim it a little at a time and keep checking the fit, you dont want to trim too much at once. I trim almost all the calls I get to fit except hooks which are much smaller than most to start
<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="l4hWuQU"><a href="//imgur.com/l4hWuQU"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

zkid09

I trim nearly all my calls as well. Don't be afraid to take the scissors to them, just go a little at a time. I've cut a couple too small and they want to move around or let air under them

RickC

OK, great thanks for the help guys.

Blessings,
Rick
Blessings,
Rick

zkid09

any time. im assuming you are new at turkey calls, so check out a few brands and see what you like.
so far, my personal favorites, in order, are:
tom teasers (cracked corn and call girl. gettin redneck hen and bare naked hen soon)
houndstooth (have the tom bomb, getting the dixie combo and ghost cut soon)
woodhaven (have copperhead, red wasp, clsasic v3 and another. good calls, but like the top two better personally)

also look at the hooks and pecker wrecker calls. those will be some of my next calls as well!

IndianaGobbler