OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

How Would You Pattern This Setup?

Started by Full_Fan, February 01, 2013, 10:16:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Full_Fan

I have the following:

A new gun.
3 chokes.
A box each of H-13 in #5, #6, and #7.

How would you go about effectively patterning all chokes with only these shells?  How many shots and at what distances?

packmule

What gun and what chokes do you have?  Several people on here have a really good idea of which chokes work best with which guns etc.

Having said that, the Hevi 13 #6s have patterned great in most of the gun/choke combos I've tried.  I have no experience with the #7s or the #5s.

Hope this helps.

njdevilsb

Shoot at big sheets of cardboard to ensure you aren't wasting the shells by not seeing most of your pattern.  You can start out at close ranges with cheaper shells to see the general point of impact with each choke before shooting the Hevi.  Each choke will probably have a different point of impact.  Start at 10 to 15 yards with cheaper shells and see where choke 1 hits, possibly adjust sights, back off to 40 yards and shoot the Hevi.  Repeat for each choke and see which choke and load gives you what you are looking for as far as an overall pattern.

Full_Fan

Thanks guys.  Am I correct in understanding that the general rule of thumb for an effective killing range is 100 holes in a 10" circle regardless of load?

outdoors

Sun Shine State { Osceola }
http://m.myfwc.com/media/4132227/turkeyhuntnoquota.jpg

noisy box call that seems to sound like a flock of juvenile hens pecking their way through a wheat field

WildSpur

Show your cards.....we can narrow considerably.

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2

Cluck more, yelp less

mikejd