OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Gobbler Oddities

Started by decoykrvr, February 26, 2011, 01:29:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

decoykrvr

I've killed a variety of gobblers w/ physical oddities over the years, ie. a solid black totally melanistic 2 yr. old gobbler, a boss gobbler w/ 15/8" spurs and no beard, a gobbler w/ an 11" beard and no spurs (not even spur buds), a gobbling jake w/ a 101/2" beard (jake fan and spurs), a gobbler w/ two spurs on one leg 11/4" and 1/2", a one-eyed gobbler- the bad eye was healed over,a gobbler w/ a 16" beard and birds w/ multiple beards etc.  What odd birds have others harvested?

OLE RASPY

I have been hunting turkeys for 15 years and never killed a odd one i dont guess.They all been pretty normal.

Hognutz

I shot a bird that had a 9''+ beard, and absolutely no spurs. There wasn't even a mark where the spurs were supposed to be. Must have been a lover, not a fighter.  ???
May I assume you're not here to inquire about the alcohol or the tobacco?
If attacked by a mob of clowns, go for the juggler.

deerhunt1988

I have taken one with no spurs and one with no spur on one leg and a nub on the other.

turkey_slayer

One that had no spurs, a pencil 6 inch beard but weighed 20 lbs 3 oz  ???  Another that had gangrene so bad you couldnt even stand to be around him he stunk so bad.  Both legs and breast were as green as grass and he had puncture marks all over him from getting his butt whooped.  He still came in like he was the king and never acted hurt.

njdevilsb

I don't think it's too odd, but I killed one that had a 2 inch beard from beard rot or from the ice from the hard winters we have.  It looked like it had been cut off clean with scissors.

rem 300