turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Choke testing....

Started by mossyoakpro, April 06, 2012, 06:57:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mossyoakpro

Since I am just getting started on the 20 ga wagon I need to know which choke to start testing so as not to waste a lot of ammo before I get to it...

I have 3 to try out....it was 4 until I was told not to shoot HTL out of a rem choke.

1) Pure Gold Tempest .570
2) Primos Tightwad .570
3) Truglo SSX .550

Of these 3 which should I start with and most likely get my best patterns with Fed HW #7's?

Thanks in advance!!
Phillippians 4:13

mightyjoeyoung

Also might want to look hard at the Carlson's .575 non-ported superfull.  I just got mine yesterday and I gotta say I was impressed by the patterns it put out with the HW 7s. :OGturkeyhead:
Big Al's "Take-em" Style Silhouette decoys Pro-Staff.

Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind te most.

Waddle Whacker

You've got three good ones there. Alot of folks on here put up good numbers with the SSX, I'm not one of them. I think I averaged around 100 @ 40 with that choke. I settled on the TightWad, averaging low-mid 140's with the Fed 7's out of an 870, 21" barrel. Good luck with your testing, and after you pack that 20 a few times you won't care to tote the 12 anymore, I know I don't.

darron

With the SSX and hevi 7's I was getting in the 150's.

SSX and FHW 7's blew away the hevi 7's as you can see from the attached pic

FullChoke

I have not patterned this combination yet, but I have seen some awesome posted results with the SSX and the Fed FC HW#7s.

FC

Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.

msgobblergetter

Quote from: mossyoakpro on April 06, 2012, 06:57:41 PM
Since I am just getting started on the 20 ga wagon I need to know which choke to start testing so as not to waste a lot of ammo before I get to it...