turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Enlighten me on the different types of turkey loads

Started by gobblercop, April 04, 2012, 09:27:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gobblercop

I've had people tell me things like, "If your dead set on lead..........shoot this type of ammo.......".  Well, that makes me feel like there is something BETTER out there.  I'm REALLY new to this guys, I need all the info I can get, and I want to stack the odds in my favor as best I can.  Are there farther traveling, harder hitting, tighter pattern producing loads?  And if so, what type?  I am shooting a 26'' 12 ga Benelli Nova with a Jellyhead choke, so I can shoot any size shell.  I'm speaking SPECIFICALLY about the actual type of load, size of load, brand of load.....so on and so forth.  I really have NO CLUE what I'm shopping for when I go hunting for turkey shells.  Right now, I'm shooting Remington Nitro #5's.  This contains only 1 7/8 ounces of shot.  HELP ME PLEASE!

msgobblergetter

The general consensus is that Hevi-13, Hevi-Shot Magnum Blends, Winchester Xtended Range, and Federal Heavy Weight are the going trend for heavier than lead loads.  Winchester double X and high velocity seem to be the most popular lead loads here on OG.

Trevor2

Get ya some hevishot #7 or the magblends you won't be disappointed
Strutstopper

R AJ

When going to lead loads it is the 6s that usually help in pattern #s and they do the job to 40 yds pretty well. #5s are the first choice for many of those who can get around 100 pellets in a 10 " circle at 35-40 yds.

If you are shooting at 30 and under and using lead, the shot don't have the energy that HTL shot have but usually are capable of doing the job.

If you are into the 40 yard shot you need to think more along the HTL loads.