turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Rio Hunt Box Call

Started by Austy, March 26, 2012, 05:47:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Austy

I finished up this box call yesterday for myself to take along next month on a Texas, Rio Grande Turkey Hunt.  All of the woods for this call were cut locally here in Carbon County, PA.  The lid is Black Walnut with 1/8" Hickory inlays the length of the lid to give it some color.  The box itself has Cherry End blocks and base which are all one piece with Beechnut Blades.  It's a true PA Turkey call!!  I added some wood burning to the blades and lid of the call to give it a personal touch.  I am no artist like some of you fellas on here but I guess practice makes perfect, or at least that's what they tell me :)    I decided to put a couple of Oak leaves with Acorns on the blades of the call.  I am hoping that I can get one of those Texas Rio Long Beards to come on in for a taste of one of these PA Acorns.  The box itself is 6.25" long X 1.5" wide X 1.875" tall to the top of the lid.  The Lid is 9.5" long.  I put 3 coats of Tru Oil on the box for a finish and then hit it with 0000 steel wool to take the shine off the box.  The last thing I want is for this box to shine in the turkey woods other then how it sounds!!  Both blades of the call ended up sounding great and with a rubber band around the call it makes a pretty nice gobble!!  Thanks for the look, comments welcome!!

barry

WillowRidgeCalls

Wisconsin Turkey and Turkey Hunting Pro-Staff
Scott

VanHelden Game Calls

That a darn nice looking call.  Don't sell yourself short on your artistic abilities, we all have our own style and that feather is darn nice :icon_thumright:

Spring Creek Calls

Very nice call and good luck with the Rio's!

:smiley-patriotic-flagwaver-an
2014  SE Call Makers Short Box 2nd Place
2017  Buckeye Challenge Long Box 5th Place
2018  Mountain State Short Box 2nd Place