OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Looking For A Good Knife

Started by El Pavo Grande, January 13, 2012, 05:25:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

El Pavo Grande

In November I killed a buck at the bottom of a steep mountain.  It being a wilderness area, there are few roads around other than the one at the top of the mountain which I am parked on.  Anyway, I had a nice NWTF knife I had been carrying for several years.  I gutted the buck and began the grueling drag.  It was brutal and I soon realized my best option would have been to quarter the deer up.  But I kept going and after nearly two hours I was at the top.  Not being in the best shape, I was absolutely beat and exhausted.   That's when I realized I'd left my NWTF knife at the bottom of the mountain.  What I had thought was it in my vest was actually my little saw.

So, I quickly decided to forgo a return trek to the base of the mountain, thus opting in favor of a return trip at some point in the near future.  However, I have yet to find the time to return for my knife and not sure if I will anytime soon due to the distance from my house.  It'll probably be there buried under the leaves, unless some fortunate fellow is now sporting a nice NWTF knife on his hip. 

So, the point is that I need to get another quality knife that is sharp.  If anything that NWTF knife was sharp!!!  Any suggestions on a good knife that won't break the bank?     

El Pavo Grande

I forgot to mention, I want one with a partially serrated blade.  That's one feature I liked about the NWTF knife I lost.

Gus_13

Strut. Gobble. Die.

El Pavo Grande

Gus_13,

I appreciate the info.  I'll definitely check them out.  And hopefully come spring, I will be able to go search for my old NWTF knife.

stone road turkey calls