turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Remingtoon 870 express

Started by ga284, December 07, 2011, 01:53:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ga284

I am new to turkey hunting just getting started. Does anyone out there hunt with the 870 express using the full choke tube that comes with the gun from the factory?I guess what I'm asking is will the gun pattern good enough with that tube?If so what shells would you recommend?
Thanks

Crappiepro

You'll need to pattern or shoot the gun first, to see how good the pattern is. Try different yardages 20, 25, 30 to see how many shot or holes you will get in the paper. You also might get a couple different brands of shells of different shot sizes to see if any of those make a tighter group. That's the basic idea to get as many shot in the space of a 30" circle as you can. Try to stay with in 30yrds. You just have to find a shell that will do best with that gun and choke.  I dont know if that's explained with enough info but theres alot of guys on here that you can trust what they say! Lots of good info here on the forum

Crappiepro

I forgot to say "Welcome to the forum" This is one of the best forums around! Good Luck, Crappiepro

Holston

I'm new here, and fairly inexperienced with shotguns as well.

I'm sure others will be much more help to ya, but I'm about to buy a new turkey gun as well.

Judging from my experience with rifles, I'd be willing to bet that most shotguns will behave differently will different loads/chokes.   I'd say the difference will be much less than the variations between rifled barrels though.

I know that when I do purchase mine, I'll be giving it a shot with the stock chokes before I buy an aftermarket one.

Good luck.

Gobble!

If you have enough cash I would get a after market choke.
You can get a Primos JellyHead for around $35.
If you can find it .660 constriction would be better then .665.
Now the key ingredient: shells