OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Nitro Shot Sizes

Started by Hognutz, February 15, 2011, 01:12:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

What is your ''go to'' shot size in Nitro shotshells?

Straight #7's
22 (44.9%)
Straight #5's
2 (4.1%)
4x5x6's
0 (0%)
4x5x7's
25 (51%)

Total Members Voted: 46

Hognutz

Just wondering which Nitro shell is the most common in the turkey woods. I am new to them, and trying to figure out which is the load of choice. I am venturing into the Nitro game with a Browning BPS 10 ga. Thanks Gobbler74...Mike 
May I assume you're not here to inquire about the alcohol or the tobacco?
If attacked by a mob of clowns, go for the juggler.

WVhuntEER

I shoot the 4x5x7 and have had great results.  Honestly, I can't see how I could improve. That said,  I have read on here that the straight 7's are unreal.  You really can't go wrong.

horsedoctor

#7 in My SP-10. Sends a deadly swarm of shot further than I ought to be shooting at turkeys.

4nwtf

I like the 2x5x7 & the 4x5x7 loads.  I have had to make a few second shots at running/flying birds and the bigger shot breaks wings hips etc.  Of course in a perfect world I wouldn't have to do that but sometimes my nerves get the best of me and I screw up the perfect "easy" shot lol.

Basser69

This is my first year with the Nitros but I ordered them in straight 7's for my SP-10 due to the posts I have seen on OG

Hognutz

Thanks for the replies. Please keep them coming..Mike :icon_thumright:

kyhareraiser

man ; i ain't never heard of shooting turkeys with 7 shot..that's my favorite dove losd though..  6's is the smallest i've ever used on turkeys ..it powders their head too

Hognutz

Hevi- Shot #7's are about as hot as you can get. The numbers are staggering..

flydowntn

I would go with a Heavy 13 load.
S. P. Game Calls

n2deer