OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

catfish bait?

Started by honker22, July 11, 2011, 01:44:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

honker22

I'm not a novice when it comes to catfishing but what is your preferred bait?  Typically, I like to tightline with a bell sinker and 1 or 2 hooks.

I have some land in East Tx and a small river is our border.  It has a good many channel and blue cats.  I've caught them on night crawlers but they seem to like chicken livers much more.  But those dang things are so hard to bait up, without falling off or melting in your hands.  Each time I use them, I think there's GOT to be a better way.  Cut bait didn't produce much for me either.  Any ideas are appreciated.
-Thanks!
People who don't get it, don't get that they don't get it.

stone road turkey calls

put the chicken livers in a peice of panty hose or cheese cloth tie it closed hook it your good to go.
Stone Road Turkey Calls / Gary Taylor
2013 Norseman 3rd place pot call
2013 Grand national 6th place pot call
2014 Midwest 3rd place pot call
2015 Midwest 5th place HM Tube call

honker22

...Why didn't I think of that.  Thanks!
People who don't get it, don't get that they don't get it.

TurkeyScratch

When using livers, I prefer using rooster livers over chicken livers. They seem tougher to me and stay better on the hook. I use different types of bait, sometimes  I'll stop and buy a tub of shrimp (3.50-4.00 bucks) at the grocery store. I cut each shrimp up into 3 pieces and fish for a good while.  I wore the blues out on shrimp one morning.

barry

Groundhog liver works great.
I'm betting turkey liver would too

redarrow

Sausage. Either kielbasa or any cheap smoked sausage. Works great on trot lines and jugs.

vaturkey

Live Perch !  :icon_thumright:

:newmascot:
Vaturkey

CASH

Cutbait Shad if I feel like catching them.  If not big minners.