turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

What to do when no gobbling

Started by Elidepew05, April 18, 2023, 11:08:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elidepew05

In Southeast Mo I went out opener to a new spot I'm not very familiar with and a decent morning a little windy didn't hear a single gobble and hunted until noon. I let out a couple of calls every 15 minutes or so. I moved every hour or so around the area am I doing something wrong? Normally I get to spot if I haven't roosted one and start with an owl hoot at daybreak then chase it. Sometimes If there is no response I break out a call. I'm lost I've been hunting for 2 years very seriously and have yet to kill a bird. Thinking about going out tomorrow the temperature is warming up to about 80 degrees and a low of 60. Whereas it has been slightly colder, will this affect the gobbling? All of this was public, thinking about hunting a private farm of 300 acres just doesn't seem to have a whole lot of turkeys on it.

Suggestions, Thanks in advance.

GobbleNut

I don't know about others, but if I am not hearing gobbles at "prime time", that is, at first daylight in the morning, I am moving on.  It is as simple as that.  Mic. Drop... 

Mick2394

Agree with above, if I get to a new spot and I hear nothing at daybreak I'm going to find somewhere else to go, no point in hunting for a bird that isn't there in the first place...rule #1 to killing a bird is being where the birds are. Keep at it and keep looking and you will luck into one!
Semper Fi

jhoward11

Did we scout this area before? You may give it one more morning. I agree, when nothing during prime time, drop the mic and move.

joey46