News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

flu shots?

Started by harvester, February 13, 2011, 08:29:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

harvester

How many get a flu shot every year?

I don't, won't, will not even think about it. Everybody I know who gets one, gets sick.

RutnNStrutn

I get one every year. I've never gotten sick from it. Nor have I come down with the flu since I started getting the shots. I am a firefighter :firefighter: and during flu season we run on people with the flu 2 or 3 times each shift. I'm not taking those kind of chances without getting the shot.

Skeeterbait

Every year and never had the flu. Not to say the shot won't make a few people feel achy and run a low fevor for a day.  It happens to some but it is not the flu.  Now you can catch the flu anyway in a few rare instances.  A few people will not develop the immunity from the shot.  You also have to realize that the flu virus mutates every year and in order to have the serum available they have to make their best educated guess ahead of time as to what strain will be most prevelent each year.  Sometimes they don't guess as well and the shot may only be partially effective against the strain you encounter that year.

chatterbox

I work in healthcare, and if I don't get the shot, I have to wear a surgical mask all the time at work.
The shot is easier, and less aggrivating.

Odessa

Take it every year and also haven't gotten the flu from it yet.
"I admire a good turkey hunter chiefly because such a man displays qualities that we usually associate with pioneer America-patience, enthusiasm, woodcraft, game sense, and a quiet hardihood undaunted by rain, by cold, by long tough miles, by disappointment."
Archibald Rutledge

West Augusta

Every year for over twenty years. When I can't get them at work I have even gone to the doctor and paid for them myself. They work.