OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Turkey hunting advice

Started by Elidepew05, April 03, 2022, 04:02:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elidepew05

I'm an rookie at turkey hunting and would Like some tips. Got close a few times never sealed the deal. Any tips for this upcoming season in Missouri?

Jimspur

Timmer

Lot's of tips and tricks to be found here. There is a section just for tips and strategies - http://oldgobbler.com/Forum/index.php/board,45.0.html.  A moderator will probably move this thread there as a matter of fact. 

The single biggest piece of advice I could give you is to not over call.  That's the surest way to get a bird to hang up or even expect you to follow him as he heads in another direction.  Many hunters will say that if he cuts you off (gobbles over you when you call), you never call again.
Timmer

All of the tools, some of the skills!

Tom007

Patience kills more turkeys than anything else. Hunt slow, take your time, calculate your moves and set-ups and be patient. Your opportunities will come, you will score for sure.
"Solo hunter"

Marc

I posted this on a similar thread...

*Put the full choke in your shotgun (if you have changable chokes)
*#6 lead shot will work fine (as long as lead is legal to shoot).  Any of the turkey loads sold in packs of 10 will work, but I do prefer #6's.
*Camouflage clothing that is of similar color of your surroundings is helpful.  Drab browns and greens will work though.
*Face mask is probably a good idea.
*Box call would be my first choice for a beginning call (Easy to learn, realistic, and versatile)
*DO NOT MOVE/BE STILL.  Turkeys see movement surprisingly well.  Even the slightest head turn, hand movement, etc., will be seen.  If you think a bird is close DO NOT MOVE!