OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

First turkey Gun

Started by tonybart55, February 21, 2021, 10:11:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonybart55

Hey Guys, been a member of ArcheryTalk for about 2 years now but new to Old Gobbler. Wanted to get y'all's thoughts on something.

So I used my Father-In-Laws Rem 870 12Ga  last turkey season and although I didn't get a bird I had fun going and want to Get my own turkey gun, but I'm trying to decide from two different guns for 2 different reasons. I am a novice is every sense of the word when it comes to turkey hunting. But here are my two thoughts of a potential turkey gun and was curious of y'all's thoughts too.

After doing a lot  of research I initially was going to go with the Girsan MC312 Gobbler 12Ga. It's a semi auto for follow up shots, comes with a red dot, and takes very easy to come by beretta/benelli mobile chokes, and it's right around $550-$600.

My other option is on the other end of the spectrum with the Stevens 301 .410. I've seen countless reviews and even a couple posts on here,before I made an account, talking about the patterning out to 40 yards with TSS loads. This option appeals to me because it's $179 at my local Academy, the ammo that I've seen is typically cheaper (when you can find any for either cartridge), it comes with a factory XF turkey choke, and I can take my nephew (6 yr old) out turkey hunting with me and he can shoot it due to the low recoil.

What are your thoughts for my first turkey gun? Or would y'all recommend something else? Any responses are much appreciated. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

old3toe