turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Oklahoma Advice

Started by Bamaslayer757, February 08, 2021, 12:46:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bamaslayer757

Buddy and I are doing a Western swing staying near Sayre, Ok and will be hunting public as we make our way north to Nebraska around April 17-24. Trying to do as cheap as possible as I am a 4th year med student with no money ???? I've only really hunted Bama, sippi, and Tennessee birds so any tips or helpful hints would be much appreciated. We will hit the infamous Black kettle as well as other public areas and are just planning on running and gunning all day every day. I have seen a lot of good tips and links as well as I plan on calling the biologists around to fully do my homework but figured I'd reach out to y'all as well for useful tips and suggestions. Thanks!

Gooserbat

Not nearly as many birds as there used to be.  If you knock on doors don't waist time doing it near public lands those folks have a scripted polite "No" plenty of camping if you are on the cheap.
NWTF Booth 1623
One of my personal current interests is nest predators and how a majority of hunters, where legal bait to the extent of chumming coons.  However once they get the predators concentrated they don't control them.

GobbleNut

Planning on making a run up that way myself.  Here's a question for you, Sam, and others that might know:  For those private-land folks that will say no to hunting, any ideas on how willing they are to allow hunting with the offer of a trespass fee? 

I suspect, like other regions, that most of the private lands are leased-out to individuals or hunting clubs, but I thought I would throw out the question.  Years ago, it was possible to find folks who would allow you to hunt with the offer of a little "reimbursement" for the privilege,...and that was generally pretty reasonable. 

makestomstremble