OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Crossbow for turkey hunting

Started by packmule, June 28, 2018, 06:49:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

packmule

I'm considering buying a crossbow for turkey hunting next year.  Would be a total beginner, any advice or insights would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Spring Creek Calls

Many states offer an early archery season just before the gun opener. Great way to get a jump on opening day and also get some great scouting in while hunting. I've taken a couple birds with a crossbow, but one must aim carefully as it's a mighty small kill zone on a turkey. I hunt with a Barnett FX2 crossbow which is under $300. I use the same broadheads that I hunt deer with and limit my shots to 25 yards and in. Good luck Toby!
2014  SE Call Makers Short Box 2nd Place
2017  Buckeye Challenge Long Box 5th Place
2018  Mountain State Short Box 2nd Place
2019  Mountain State Short Box 1st Place
2019  NWTF Great Lakes Scratch Box 4th Place
2020 NWTF GNCC Amateur 5th Place Box
2021 Mountain State 3rd Place Short Box
2021 SE Callmakers 1st & 2nd Short Box
E-mail: gobblez@aol.com

yelpy

I use a Scorpyd Ventilator Extreme 175, South shore archery spynal tapp arrows, tipped with a any rage crossbow head or mechanical head I have for deer. Fast and very accurate. More speed less margin for error. Works like a charm.

Sent from my SM-J727VPP using Tapatalk

neal

I bought a ravin and hunted with it this spring in Nebraska. Used the rage turkey broadheads. I killed two and a buddy used it and killed one. Lots of practice and know your equipment very well. My Ravin shoots over 400fps I shot one bird at 30yds and after looking at the footage he still jumped the string, his wings were halfway up to fly when the arrow hit him. After seeing that 20-25yds is my limit. Got all the kills on film for Barronett blinds.