News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Evening Hunting

Started by StickString96, May 06, 2014, 10:32:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StickString96

Hey Guys,

My name is Dom and I am 17 years old. This is my first season hunting turkeys and I have learned a lot of information from the forums on this website. I have had a couple close encounters with birds so far (MD season opened up 4/18), but it is hard for me to hunt mornings with school and all. Evening hunting opens up here on 5/10, so after Friday I will have much more time to hunt. I was wondering what evening strategies you guys use? Are there any special tactics that are effective especially in the evenings? I know catching the birds going back to roost is an option, but is there more? I'm trying to kill a bird with my bow if it makes a difference. Thanks in advance.

TnRidgeRunner

Can you get one to gobble?

wisconsinteacher

As a teacher, I am in the same situation.  I am able to sneak out after school to hunt.  I try to sneak into the roost area and plan to sit the last 2 hours of the evening.  The past two hunts I have had great success with birds gobbling and responding to calls.  I messed up both times so the toms are still there.  Sneak in and call every 10-15 minutes.  Birds can travel a good distance the last few hours of the day so stick tight and keep your eyes open. 

R AJ

Early afternoon till just before roosting time, try slowly and stealthily walking down roads, along edges of fields(in the woods), scouting for tracks, strut sign, scratching, etc. Make some crow calls or yelps/cuts/clucks, every two hundred yards or so and try to get one to answer. If this fails, go to a known area, if possible, for them to use in the afternoons and after about thirty minutes, try some soft calling and be alert for silent birds walking in on you.