OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Crossbow Question

Started by zelmo1, June 13, 2019, 09:42:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zelmo1

What broadheads do you use for turkeys and deer. Most guys are brand loyal when they find something they like. I will be shooting a crossbow btw. I will also be using it during the bow season in our "special zone" season. All info is welcome. Thanks, Al Baker

bonasa

Rocket (Trophy Ridge) hammerhead is a 3 blade 2" mechanical, shot many spring turkeys with these out of the crossbow and compound. All were down inside of 10 yards, many were down right where they were hit.

Happy

I have zero crossbow experience but I have really liked the results I have had with the QAD exodus full blade broadhead. Shooting right around 78lb in my compound I have yet to not have a full pass through and great bloodtrails. I have never been keen on mechanicals because of structural integrity issues but there is something to be said for a wide cut if you have the horsepower to push it through and can place your shots accordingly. I like to hold tight to the shoulder on deer so I want something that will hold up to hard impacts. So far the QAD has done a tremendous job.

Good-Looking and Platinum member of the Elitist Club

neal

For turkeys I've been using the Rage turkey and it's been incredible. Killed 7 in the last two years. Haven't lost one and they've all gone down in sight of me.

Neal

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hooks Custom Calls Prostaff member

NWTF Diamond life member, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation Life Member, NWTF Nationals Hunting Call Competition Judge, Hooks custom calls striker builder, WI, MN & IA State Friction Calling Champion.

owlhoot

I have seen some amazing results with those guillotine that a couple of friends used.

greentag