OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Crystal Conditioning Question

Started by thunderbirder, April 11, 2017, 08:03:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thunderbirder

I recently got the Crystal Mistress and love it. I have a small Arkansas stone to condition it. Do I condition the same spot all the time (ie. before every hunt) or should I eventually make a new "scratched surface" on the call?
Thanks, Al

Sent from my LG-D852 using Tapatalk

Double B

Just use the spot the call maker scratched up if it's big enough to suit you. 
Followed by buzzards

thunderbirder

I need to practice my calling since I am new to the sport, so I found that I needed to condition it after about 30 minutes of continuous practice. After a while I am afraid that I will eventually eat through the surface if I go over the same spot.
Thanks for your help, Al

TauntoHawk

To freshen it you don't need to really grind in there just lightly rough up the area, I find a little bit of scotch brite to clean the surface is all thats needed. if you are grinding a hole through the call you are really taking some frustration out on that call
<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="l4hWuQU"><a href="//imgur.com/l4hWuQU"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

merriamsman

Once the surface has been initially scratched with a stone, you only need to touch it up with a scotch brite. Always rub it in the same direction so that you don't bring the dust back and forth.

kjnengr

Don't forget to condition the tip of your striker from time to time too.  I use the red scotchbrite for my strikers. 

1iagobblergetter

Quote from: merriamsman on April 11, 2017, 10:12:17 AM