turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Very disappointed with my turkey gun pattern. ''SUGGESTIONS PLEASE''

Started by btmonnat, January 13, 2013, 12:51:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

btmonnat

I just bought a Winchester Super X pump, the turkey model w/24'' barrel. Put a FF III W/ picatinny  mount onto a weaver base and bought a Indian Creek Black Diamond Strike .665 choke. I made sure it was sighted in good and went out to try some turkey loads. At 40 yards the best I could get out of this set up was 30 - 51 hits in a 10'' circle out of the 3 1/2'' #5's. I was using all #5 winchester turkey supremes. I have tried  2 3/4-1 5/8oz, 3''-1 3/4oz and 3 1/2''-2oz. This is all copper plated shot. I would like to stay with lead if possible. I do not know if I should change shot size, choke tubes, or the shells themselves. I am new to this and if I can not find something better than this I am not even going to start turkey hunting. SUGGESTIONS PLEASE.

outdoors

Did you DEEP clean the barrel before you shot ,, Im sure this would make a big difference
Sun Shine State { Osceola }
http://m.myfwc.com/media/4132227/turkeyhuntnoquota.jpg

noisy box call that seems to sound like a flock of juvenile hens pecking their way through a wheat field

allaboutshooting

Quote from: btmonnat on January 13, 2013, 12:51:22 PM