OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Refining the cluck

Started by strum, February 08, 2020, 11:15:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

strum

I have been using diaphragms now for 6-8 years and I  feel the mouth call gives me the best yelps out of anything I have ever tried . This year while listening to youtube real turkey sounds just to start getting my ear back I realized that my clucks suck. The good news is Im working on em and I think Im on the right track. I also suck at purrs but thats a different thing. I am having an epiphany here.  :blob10:
I truly believe that I can get away with less than perfect yelps if I can realistically cluck. Im saying the cluck is the deal maker or breaker possibly above all other calls. Just talking here. :boon:

Greg Massey

Purr's are letting ever one know hey all calm and the cluck is the attention getter , you have to let those purr's roll off the tongue again the rubber of the mouth call, and your clucks are taking your tongue and popping it again the rubber of the mouth call... prrr's are little harder to master in my opinion .. cluck is just a cluck...most hens sound awful anyway..don't over think it ...

1iagobblergetter

Good news is at least you don't think you are great with a mouthcall but suck. Keep practicing and at some point you'll probably become a master.
I think when people believe that they are great,but are not is when they have a problem.
You don't have to be great with any call to call in a turkey at least at times,but it sure doesn't hurt.  ;D Good luck...

MK M GOBL