OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

870 patterning issues with tss

Started by dzsmith, February 08, 2020, 08:52:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dzsmith

So I started shooting tss through my 870 2 seasons ago. My 870 has a 21" barrel, and I currently shoot a sumtoy 665 choke.  I used to shoot longbeards with a sumtoy 655 choke and had excellent results for years with that setup considering it was lead and a short barrel. Forcing cone is bored out and I would polish my barrel once a season before the season, super shiney bore with the exception of where the forcing cone once was. so I shoot apex gt-3 shells which is 12 guage 3" 2.25oz tss 9s. The best pattern I got was 391 pellets in a 10" circle at 40 yards. Not too bad, will definetly kill a turkey at any reasonable distance and then some.....but I still thought there was room for improvement, even with that short of a barrel. I wanted to break 400. the pattern showed a little sign of blowout, so I figured maybe go with a slightly more open choke even though most 870 shooters using tss seem to be shooting a 665 restriction. So fast forward to this year. I bought a sumtoy 670 choke. After running a few loads through it, the pattern averaged in the 360s. best being 365 pellets in a 10" circle at 40 yards. Of course, the pattern is acceptable for hunting but the pattern did get technically worse. One thing that was different , was the temps were cold outside. 50s maybe peaking in the 60s. So....the conclusion to me is with a 21" barrel and the 665 constriction maybe high 300s..."380s and 390s" is as good as its going to get for me. I have a spare stock barrel ive saved over the years in case I wanted to have work done to it. im wondering if I cut it down staying slightly longer in the 22-24" range, and run the same choke , if it would push me into the 400+ pellet threshold at 40 yar