News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Can't get bronze glass to work

Started by milertyme03, May 08, 2011, 12:42:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

milertyme03

Hey guys, I need some help.

I have a new Bronze Glass hooks call and it sounded great when i got it a few weeks ago. I even used it to locate my wife's first bird on opening day. The problem is I cannot get it to grip at all. I dont know if I am over conditioning it or what. I tried taking the scotch brite they sent with it to both striker and call but it still does not grip. When I scrub it with the scotch brite I can see all the dust coming off and I think it is filling in the scratches and creating a slippery surface. How can I get around this problem? I have had other glass calls but maybe it is because the glass is harder than typical calls. I would appreciate any help. I am hunting next two days and weather is looking great in NY!

Thanks

Snoody Bastid

I'm no expert but I think the scotch-brite is smoothing out your striker, I would go 150-220 grit on the surface & striker. And I would blow off the glass surface after conditioning to remove any fine particles in the newly formed scratches.

Cut*N*Run

I would try 110 grit sandpaper on the glass. Sand it with a new section every few strokes. The glass will wear down the sandpaper fast and you don't want to make it too smooth. After it's roughed up a bit, get rid of all the dust like Snoody said. The glass dust is your enemy. I like a smooth striker so I sand down to 1500 and then rough it up a bit with the scotchbrite.

You might also try wiping the glass and striker tip clean with high concentration alcohol (90%+ isopropanol or denatured alcohol).

If all else fails, box call chalk on the glass might just do the trick.

Good Luck!

Devastator

you should use the small dri wall sanding screen that came with the call.i got one with mine.did you get one?

milertyme03