News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

TURKEY FANNING & REAPING, NOT LEGAL IN ALL STATES

Started by mookyj, January 13, 2020, 01:11:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rick

Stupid question !!!!
I have been hunting turkeys for over 40 yrs and what the heck is reaping ???
Saved By Grace

Bowguy

Sneaking up to them behind a turkey tail fan. I'm sure you've seen it on tv

Rick

Nope , i quit watching those hunting shows years ago.  They were in a different world than us south Mississippi rednecks ..
Saved By Grace

Rick

When i was young , i belly crawled on a few in sage grass fields .. Does that count ???
Saved By Grace

Bowguy

Quote from: Rick on January 16, 2020, 09:05:53 AM
Nope , i quit watching those hunting shows years ago.  They were in a different world than us south Mississippi rednecks ..

I have no use for the infomercials they've become myself n never watch em.
Mississippi, ya got swampers there?

GobbleNut

Quote from: Rick on January 16, 2020, 08:55:29 AM
Stupid question !!!!
I have been hunting turkeys for over 40 yrs and what the heck is reaping ???

To expand on the explanation a bit:
The term "reaping" was coined by someone about five years ago (per my remembrance) to define the practice of using a strutting turkey imitation (decoy or fan) to approach a gobbler by hiding behind it and moving in on the bird. 

Amazingly enough, it is extremely effective in many cases and allows the "reaper" to approach gobblers very closely.  In fact, often a gobbler that sees the decoy/fan approaching will quite often run TO the decoy/fan and the reaper behind it.  Bottom line is that the practice preys on a gobblers instinct towards dominance,...i.e. challenging other gobblers nearby,... and has changed turkey hunting, and turkey hunting success, significantly.  Specifically, it has made dominant gobblers,...those that typically could not easily be called in by using a turkey call,...very susceptible to being killed.