turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

TSS Pattern question

Started by RiverRoost, March 30, 2017, 11:10:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RiverRoost

I'm awaiting for a Remington SF for my 20 gauge to come in and have my first experience with tss tomorrow. From what I've read and my thinking my question is, is does the tss need to have those super full cores at 40 to kill and that's the advantage of them being that a light,small gauge gun can produce that tight of core and kill at 40 yards or is it just as lethal at 40 with a more open pattern? I like a tight 40 but I want my wife to shoot this and afraid up close it's too tight for her. So does it really need to be that tight to kill and you can get the lethality from it bc it's so much of small shot and make a tight core or is that just the nature of the beast?

Gooserbat

I'm not an expert but I'm not a novice either.  No the tight core IMHO is exactly what you are wanting to get away from.  The beauty of tss is patern density.  250 in a 20 gauge with a 1 5/8 oz of #9 is about perfect.  It will yield  a volleyball size pattern at 20 yards and kill much farther than OG wants to discuss.  Coincidentally I have my Remington 870 20 ga doing 240-260 on average and I don't feel like I'm in anyway under gunned. 
NWTF Booth 1623
One of my personal current interests is nest predators and how a majority of hunters, where legal bait to the extent of chumming coons.  However once they get the predators concentrated they don't control them.

Swampchickin234