turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Gun choke shells?

Started by Jerseygti337, March 21, 2017, 06:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jerseygti337

What is going on here, I bought an 870 sos supermag with the 23" barrel and shurshot stock and don't seem to be getting a good pattern/numbers no matter what I try. I've deep cleaned and polished the barrel already. I've tried an IC665 choke, jellyhead 660, Carlson ported 665 and the factory hd choke with a bunch of different shells. Is this the best it's gonna do or do I need to invest even more $ in chokes. Here's what I've done so far.

owlhoot

What are you looking for? What kind of numbers?

Jerseygti337

To be perfectly honest, I'm new to turkey guns and turkey hunting in general. It just seems like everything I've tried with this gun is sub par to what is often posted in here with low numbers or gaps.

owlhoot

You hunting or more into numbers. For hunting looks like a few good ones.Magblends at 178
204 with lb 6's and another at 180. Was it cold outside ?
Did you clean while shooting? 3" or 3 1/2"too?

Jerseygti337

Strictly for hunting, it was about 60 degrees out, running a bore snake a few times after every shot and all 3" shells.

MickT

Any of those is a killing pattern at 40 and then some. Get your poi to match poa and you will be in business.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

surehuntsalot

for hunting those would be fine, as stated above get your poa/poi  and you will be set
it's not the harvest,it's the chase

Jerseygti337

So assuming all of these can be corrected for poi/poa(adjustable sites) which would you combo would you guys hunt with.  To me, the ic magblend, ic longbeard6 and factory hd choke with long beards looks the best.

Dr Juice

Quote from: surehuntsalot on March 21, 2017, 06:54:32 PM
for hunting those would be fine, as stated above get your poa/poi  and you will be set
X2

owlhoot