OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

DSD Decoys YES!! (Pic Heavy :)

Started by MK M GOBL, March 04, 2017, 06:05:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

saverx

I killed my 1st turkey over a decoy last year with a single decoy set up. Ive just never used decoys much in the past. I have some new clear cuts to hunt this year and I think decoys will help so I'm going to try it some more this year. Im new to the decoy game. What do you mean by setting them up strong side?

MK M GOBL

Quote from: saverx on March 04, 2017, 09:52:40 PM
I killed my 1st turkey over a decoy last year with a single decoy set up. Ive just never used decoys much in the past. I have some new clear cuts to hunt this year and I think decoys will help so I'm going to try it some more this year. Im new to the decoy game. What do you mean by setting them up strong side?

So if you are a right handed shooter you are able to swing your gun/bow farther to your left (strong side) than right. I never position myself/others for a dead straight on shot to dekes, as a righty I set faced more to my right side as I can swing to the left easily. If you think of a clock and you are center pivot point, I face about 2:00, decoys at noon and can shoot all the way back till about 9:00. This also give you a good rest over your knees while holding on a bird, this would be just opposite if you are a lefty.

MK M GOBL

owlhoot

Quote from: saverx on March 04, 2017, 09:24:08 PM
I have trouble getting the turkey to see the decoy when hunting in the woods. In my youth, I hunted mostly in Alabama where decoys were not legal so I learned to hunt without them. What happens now when I use a decoy is I get as close to the gobbler as possible before calling and can't get the decoy out in front of me very far. Call gobbler in, he takes a peak doesn't see a hen and splits. Any thoughts/advise?