OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Turkey Calls for Complete Beginner

Started by apexpredator, February 03, 2017, 12:57:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marc

Box call all the way for me.

•It is a loud call (when played loud) but can be played softly when needed.  It is the call I often use when trying to drum up a gobble from a long distance, or a call I use in windy conditions, cause it is loud.
•It is by far the easiest call to make basic turkey sounds on (i.e. yelps, clucks, and cutting).
•The wood chamber of the box call has a very realistic resonance.  I can pick out turkey hunters using mouth calls or pot calls far more easy than someone proficient on a box call.
•It is an easy call to pull out quickly and start making turkey sounds on.  Not as quick as a mouth call, but certainly more convenient than a pot call.

Yes, the pot call is probably more versatile on the low end (purrs and subtle clucks), but the box call is one piece, easier to learn, and one of the most realistic basic calls, that will give you a base from which to learn all other calls.

Honestly, I think you would have a difficult time beating the price and quality of Spring Creek calls for your first call.  His calls are less expensive  than quality manufactured calls, and you can call him up and talk to him as to making a call that fits your needs.   With the combination of price and quality, it would be tough to recommend a better introductory call.

There are a lot of good custom call-makers, and I have an SS call that will always go in my vest, but to some degree, I think you need to know what you want/need before spending more money.

If you really feel you are going to hunt a lot, I might consider adding a Primos Wet box to the arsenal...  Rain and/or wet weather is not ideal for playing a box call.
Did I do that?