OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Turkey Calls for Complete Beginner

Started by apexpredator, February 03, 2017, 12:57:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

apexpredator

Hello everyone. As the title states, I am a complete beginner. I have never done any turkey calling at all. I would love to shoot my first turkey this coming spring season and would love to be able to call my own gobbler in. I have started doing my research and would love to pick up a few calls to start practicing with throughout the day. In researching I figured I could use a mouth call, pot call and a box call but like I said I don't know the first thing about turkey calling so I am probably way off base. What would you guys recommend? If you guys could suggest some different types of calls, makes, models etc it would be of great help to me so I can further research and start trying my hand at it. There are so many different calls and manufacturers that it becomes overwhelming for someone like myself who has zero experience and knows no one who turkey hunts which could mentor them. Thanks in advance.

MK M GOBL

Just to ask where are you from? Don't know that you would even be close to my area but I'm always willing to teach :)

I always suggest a slate call as the first call to start on, easy to run, easy to learn and can run about every call a turkey makes on them, yup have even done gobbles. Lots of stuff on YouTube, try listening to "live" hen to pick up that turkey rhythm and learn what calls mean in turkey language.

I have a favorite of mine is a Cody World Class Slate Call, a little more money than some but I get results.

MK M GOBL

1iagobblergetter