OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Box call wood suggestions please

Started by Hankyorke, May 08, 2016, 02:43:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hankyorke

I am fairly new to box calls, so forgive the rookie question...  I am a public land hunter, so for me; different is good.  I generally prefer a cleaner sound as I feel everyone is walking around the woods with a "raspy boss hen" call in their hand/vest.  I also like the idea of the traditional woods (i.e. all Walnut, Walnut over Mahogany, etc...)

Sound being more important than wood combo.

That said; in your opinion what wood combo to do you feel fits the bill?

MattinIdaho

I do have a Kenny Harrell walnut over walnut box that sounds fantastic. The sound it produces is exactly what your describing. It's also a beautiful box. I don't see many around though and I'm not sure if he is still making boxes or if he's even alive. It was a pita to get that box from him I remember.

Britton40

REBELYELL

Quote from: Britton40 on May 08, 2016, 04:48:34 PM
Walnut over butternut.

Good suggestion, that and tell the call maker what you want. Most can tune to your liking.

coyote1

I have a cherry over poplar that has a fairly clean sound.

nitro

Royal Slam 2008

TauntoHawk

I really like bloodwood over butternut, for a box that has a different sound from most of my others I have a persimmon over black limba thats a nasally balk of a yelp. 
<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="l4hWuQU"><a href="//imgur.com/l4hWuQU"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Hankyorke

Thanks fellas!  I've been eye-balling Paul boxes on eBay for a while, suffering from paralysis via analysis...

Bowguy

I have a jatoba/poplar that is pretty clean. One wood combo that I love but raspier is purpleheart/cedar

ferocious calls