OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Letting one go

Started by Strick9, April 07, 2016, 09:51:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Strick9

I have been hunting the same bird for two years previously, this season makes 3 years of chasing him. I would say the tally is about 12 hunts on him.

I have had the opportunity to see him on about 1/3 of those occasions but yesterday was different.

I can't really tell you how it was different it just was. Everything felt different actually. There was no anxiety, no rush, no worry of work nothing but bliss. The old bird lit off a couple of gobbles to which I responded to out from under a huge live oak. He flew down hit the ground right in the middle of the oak flat about 80 yards away and gobbled. It was chilly enough to see his gobble steamed breath.

His hens began singing to him and I joined in with them. One of the hens had the prettiest assembly call I have ever heard. He gobbled again more steam. The hens circled me looking and scratching. He gobbled again strutting and drumming now at 50 yards.

Gun up as he moved in closer. The next 30 minutes were the best show I have seen in awhile. The gun well,  I just put it down.. I just wasn't mad at that old rascal anymore.

Now on to find one I don't like so much.
LowCountryWildlifeManagement
Knowing Wildlife beyond Science
Genesis 9;2

renegade19

SteelerFan

OldSchool

Congrats on a great hunt!! Success doesn't necessarily have to be measured by birds killed. You won the game and he's alive to gobble another day. :icon_thumright: :icon_thumright:

Bob
Call 'em close, It's the most fun you'll ever have doing the right thing.

KYHeadhunter02

If I fought with him that long I probably would have ended the battle. Either way it sounds like it's a memory you will never forget! Sounds very humbling.

Gobble!

Happy