OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Good Starter Lathe

Started by bamagobblergetter, February 09, 2011, 07:41:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bamagobblergetter

Hello All, newbie here from bama, looking to get into making some turkey calls(pot calls in particular). Looking for some advice on lathes and chucks? Not looking to break the bank either, just trying to get a new hobby going during the off season...Thanks

TarheelTurk

:welcomeOG: Im just starting this hobby myself so im not gonna be alot of help. But i do want to welcome you to the site.
Grandads Advice : "Sometimes its better to be quit and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubts" LOL

Hillbilly280

If you want a mini lathe Jet, Rikon, Delte, are good lathes just to name a few.Check e-bay, wood craft, and penn state,and look at some 4 jaw chucks.Hope this helps you a little.

Bobby
VANOVER GAME CALLS

Basser69

Quote from: bamagobblergetter on February 09, 2011, 07:41:31 PM
Hello All, newbie here from bama, looking to get into making some turkey calls(pot calls in particular). Looking for some advice on lathes and chucks? Not looking to break the bank either, just trying to get a new hobby going during the off season...Thanks

What part of Bama are you from?

smurf

I use a Rikon.  Relatively cheap and I wouldn't trade it for any of the others. 
If you can't stand behind our troops.  Feel free to stand in front of them.

bamagobblergetter

Im from Tuscaloosa...thanks for the help guys